bekmoertnans

Direktlänk till inlägg 18 augusti 2012

Short summary of the last weeks

Av Lisbeth Jacobsen - 18 augusti 2012 00:09

The last 4 weeks has gone way too fast for me, and I have not prioritized my blog. My husband is seriously ill, and the has been at the hospital for several weeks. This weeks I have got the full responsibility of our cats and our dog. Due to my spinal cord injuries I have not been able to do much, but these weeks I just had to do what`s necessary, like cleaning litterboxes (quite difficult since I can not bend to reach what`s on the floor), giving the animals food and clean water, and clean places to sleep. It has been a struggle and if my daughter could not come to help me some times I would not been able to take care of our fourlegged children.


We got a new litter on 22nd of July, Lina is the mother and Lion-O is the father. Lina struggled very hard to give birth to her first kitten, and he was more dead than live when she finally managed to deliver him. It was a large balinese boy, and he has 3 siblings, 2 boys and 1 girl - all of the kittens are balinese, even though Lina is a SIA variant! Sadly the first born boy did not make it and died after a few days    Lina is like Freja, a super mam! And her kittens looks like Polar bears, their coat is super! I hope they will have a super coat as grown ups as well! Today I introduced them to solid food, I gave them Bozita Patè and Hellrazor started to eat at once, like he had not done anything else all his life! Metal Queen and Cool Vibes did not want to taste, but I "helped" them a bit and put some patè on their mouth. They tasted a little bit of it, but did not like it   


Sadly there are some problems in our Missiles litter, two of the kittens has umbilical hernia and two has hooked sternum. I told about these defects to the breeders that have been interested in a kitten. And as I thought, one of them did not want to have the kitten as planned, even "their" kitten does not have any signs of hooked sternum or umbilical hernia. But this is their choice, and it is better they told me they did not want to have this kitten, than if they bring him home and regrets it later. These defects are not a nuisance for the kittens, it`s just a little beauty flaw. And I think if all breeders were honest, and tell about their lines, there will not be any breeder who has not had defects in their litters. One breeder has shown interest of our little Metal Queen, but when I told him about the defects in the Missiles litter, he did not want to have her after all. But that`s ok, pet homes are the best homes anyway    And the longer it takes before we sell a kitten to another breeder, our kittens pedigree grows more and more unique    


I often got questions about why I choose to tell all that`s happening in our cattery. And of course it would have been very comfortably for us if I kept my fingers away from the keyboard and play the same game as the most of the breeders do - either lie or not telling. But I do not have conscience to lie, and another thing - if you start to lie, will you be able to remember who you have told which lie? Another and more important for me, is that if I share our experiences, other cat owners/breeders may learn something about them. And when they some day end up in the same situation, they will know that this has happen with others as well. They are not unique, they are not alone. I have had a lot of e-mails from breeders and cat owners asking about my help and advice. And for every person I have helped, I got "paid" for sharing. I choose to tell about every little kitten that is born in our cattery. Most of them got a name, even if they lives for only a few hours. I do not believe in keeping a litter as a secret for several weeks before it is annouced when the breeder is quite sure the kittens will live. And hoe many tell about the kittens that did not make it? We are few.......


I believe in honesty, if I start to lie I could not look at my face in the mirror. I want to be able to look into my teenagers eyes and show them the best way through life.  My vision is that breeders around the world would start to share their experiences and then we can do what`s best for our fourlegged friends   


In the short term we loose because of me telling, but in the long term I think we will gain from it





 

Från
    Kom ihåg mig
URL

Säkerhetskod
   Spamskydd  

Kommentar

Av Lisbeth Jacobsen - 28 januari 2013 22:25


Today our beautiful balinese boy moved to his new home. The house is so quiet after he left and we miss him already! But his new home is the best home in the world, his new family is my sister Ann-kathrin, her daugther Sara (7 years) and Anubis the c...

Av Lisbeth Jacobsen - 9 november 2012 00:36

Several of our kittens have moved a while ago, Shrike moved to Finnsnes (further north), Amraam & Sidewinder moved to Hamarøy, Storm Shadow moved to Haugesund, Sparrow to Porsgrunn and Phoenix to Fauske, only 12 km from us    All of them has settled ...

Av Lisbeth Jacobsen - 21 september 2012 20:46

On Wednesday our Missiles litter was at the vet`s  and got their last vaccine (FEL-O-VAX PCT), their micro chip and 5 of them was neutered. Not long now until they move in new homes, we will miss them   Iris-T will stay at home, and her brother will ...

Av Lisbeth Jacobsen - 17 september 2012 15:20

Today I got a sms from my vet`s and I was sure it had to do with the tests from Løven and Puma. They have been tested for TF, after being treated for a third time. I didn`t dare to see what the message said, I wouldn`t read that they still was positi...

Av Lisbeth Jacobsen - 13 september 2012 21:59

This Thursday started calm and nice, except from the fact that we, the twolegged members of this family, had a bad day physically. We agreed on taking a lazy day and hoped for a better day tomorrow.    We have had some problems with Fanta, the ba...

Ovido - Quiz & Flashcards